Hive (Punching bag poem)

Author note: Much has been happening in my life. I’m sorry that most of my poetry has been dark and bleak as of late, but it helps me relieve myself of stress and hardship. I wrote this one with a lot of pain and anger, and I’m sorry if it only upsets you. In my words I hope you find some truth, or at least artistic value haha, since I think it doesn’t merit even that right now. Anyways, I just wanted to warn and apologize people before you read it.

-N

honey

The night is darkest within my eyes

A final collapsing enterprise

Misshapen city, sky enticed

To withhold my burning, seething cries

What am I now?

Knight in white

Night of light

A light like night

What is good

What is bad

One is not

Where the other can’t

Searching seas as vast as space

Collecting shards of ice and race

Splintered wood, burning hives

Human existence

Behold my eyes

Dark as I have ever seen

What’s wrong with us?

Why don’t we sleep?

We stay awake in vast expanse

Holding clocks with resonance

This is it, the searing crow

That sings it’s final kissing blow

Collapse oh Rome

That’s quite enough

There’s nothing now

No place, no home.

Why has this darkness creeped inside?

I see the darkness in everyone’s eyes!

Why must fear take it’s hold?

Why can’t we stand?

Distilled

Do what your told!

It’s getting so old

It’s got to stop!

That’s enough, of Rome!

Give us back our home!

We are bees, colonized slaves

Working only to play charades

Our hives

Our cries

Our eyes

Our lives

We steep inside the smouldering case

Smoke deprived sleep array

Busy, bursting, nuzzling, thirsting

Til’ flames ignite our alibis.

Leave a comment